I AM With You Always | Matthew 28:11-20


"...and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age." Amen.

“…and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.

Mat 28:11 Now while they were going, behold, some of the guard came into the city and reported to the chief priests all the things that had happened.
Mat 28:12 When they had assembled with the elders and consulted together, they gave a large sum of money to the soldiers,
Mat 28:13 saying, “Tell them, ‘His disciples came at night and stole Him away while we slept.’
Mat 28:14 And if this comes to the governor’s ears, we will appease him and make you secure.”
Mat 28:15 So they took the money and did as they were instructed; and this saying is commonly reported among the Jews until this day.
Mat 28:16 Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, to the mountain which Jesus had appointed for them.
Mat 28:17 When they saw Him, they worshiped Him; but some doubted.
Mat 28:18 And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth.
Mat 28:19 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,
Mat 28:20 teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.

The End of the Journey Through Matthew

I have been writing about the book of Matthew for quite some time now. In fact I started back on April 12th, 2010 with my very first post. Today is December 10, 2012 which means I have been doing this for approximately 32 months. Here is the very first paragraph that was written…

There are many reasons that I have started this blog, the most important being that I want to get to know my Savior Jesus Christ more personally. I believe that the only way I can do that is to really spend time in His word. However, the world has many distractions; many paths leading away from Him. So, to take control of a portion of my life, I am dedicating time each week to writing down my thoughts and feelings on a bible passage. I am doing this on the web in hopes that others will gain from this personal journey.

The intent of this blog was to bring me closer to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. So, did it? I must answer with an emphatic YES! I highly recommend to anyone that wants a closer walk with Jesus; that they read and then write about what they have “seen”. It is good to do it from the perspective of telling what you know to someone else so that they to can see what you have seen. This drives you to make your points better and to understand things more clearly before you put them down for others to read.

This journey was purely a selfish one. My main intention was to grow closer to my Savior, but if others benefit from my sharing I praise God that the Holy Spirit can work through such a broken vessel.

The journey has been exciting, frustrating and inspiring. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I have grown closer to Christ and this has made this trip well worth it.

Using the analogy of a “trip” or journey was very appropriate. There were times when the road was clear and the travels were easy, and other times when it was extremely hard to start the car and get moving (writing). I needed a lot of fuel (prayer) and my GPS (Holy Spirit) got dropped under the seat a few times along the way..though it never actually left the car. I hit bumps, rough roads, and even stopped in some places for weeks on end trying to really understand which direction the GPS wanted me to go. Jesus spoke to me sometimes like a passenger in the car helping to guide me to our next destination and at other times like police officer reminding me of the rules of the road. Most importantly, He was with me the whole way.

It is appropriate that the book of Matthew ends with the statement “…lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” He was with me and I have no doubt that He will continue to be with me to the very end. Why do I believe this? Because He had been there and because He said He would be. His Word has power….power to change men’s hearts. Dear reader, know and trust that the Lord is Good. He proved it on the cross, leaving no doubt about how much He loves you. Don’t let your journey end without allowing Jesus to become your navigator. Pray with me…

Prayer:

Dear Father in Heaven,

Thank You so much for giving us Your only begotten Son, Jesus. Your word is truth and life and love. Your love is everlasting and You have promised to be with us always. It has been Your goal from the beginning. You want to know us…help us to want to know you. Give me today Your Holy Spirit so that I may live, because living with You is all I want. Forgive my sins Lord. Cleanse my unclean heart and show me the narrow road that I must follow to stay safe in Your arms. Thank You for providing my daily bread. Thank You for watching over my family and friends. I love You Lord. Amen.

The End of the Journey?

Now that I have reached the end of my journey through Matthew the big question becomes…where to go from here? The car is all gassed up and tuned up, but I need to know where to take it? The road map (Bible) is massive with many different roads leading to new and exciting discoveries. Maybe you, dear reader, have a suggestion? Please leave a comment below and recommend a destination…

 

One thought on “I AM With You Always | Matthew 28:11-20

  1. Our Chapel class has been going verse by verse through Matthew for 5 years. We finish with 28:11-20 on Thursday. Next we plan to study Acts. May God continue to guide you on your daily journey. He is with you always.

Leave a Reply

