Day 1 | Why Start This Blog?


There are many reasons that I have started this blog, the most important being that I want to get to know my Saviour Jesus Christ more personally. I believe that the only way I can do that is to really spend time in His word. However, the world has many distractions; many paths leading away from Him. So, to take control of a portion of my life, I am dedicating time each week to writing down my thoughts and feelings on a bible passage. I am doing this on the web in hopes that others will gain from this personal journey.

I will do the following…

  • Work through a whole book, starting in Matthew. (More of the bible will follow)
  • Before reading each passage I will pray and specifically ask the Holy Spirit to guide me and show me God’s Will in each passage.
  • Blog at least once per week on each passage covered. (A passage can be as big as a whole chapter or as small as a single verse)
  • Give my personal thoughts and observations on each passage. I may reference other writers or sources but I will make that apparent.
  • Each blog entry will start with the passage to be addressed.

I encourage YOU to…

  • Follow along and study the passages yourself.
  • Leave your comments in the form of your own personal discoveries about each passage. You can also comment on what I have stated in my blog.
  • Be sure to pray and ask for the Holy Spirit to lead you before reading anything presented.

A little more about me…

I am not a theologian. I have been regularly studying the bible for the last 6 years. I do attend a bible believing & Christ centered church regularly as well as regular bible studies with fellow believers. I am also a teacher at my church.

It is my belief that the Holy Spirit will show me truths I need to see for my personal walk with Christ, if I ask. Truth will always be truth. I do think that our individuality shapes our understanding of it, in the context of our own lives.

However, when studying the bible we must remove our own wants and needs and ask for His Will to be revealed without our will being there to shape it. God’s Will is perfect; ours is tainted by sin and selfishness.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and I hope that you gain from it as much as I hope to gain from it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

