Day 2 | Matthew 1:1-16 | Proof


**Please be sure to read all around this passage so that you are getting it in context; and as always, ask the Holy Spirit to guide you to the understanding that He would have you see.

Passage: Matthew 1:1-16 NLT

Thoughts:

This whole passage seems to be “proof” supplied for the benefit of any Jewish readers of the time. I wonder if Matthew knew that his proof would help us centuries later in understanding who the Messiah is?

Matthew is showing the ancestry of Jesus to prove that he is the Messiah. I also note that in verse 1 he makes the clear statement that Jesus is the Messiah and a descendant of David and Abraham. It’s interesting that he doesn’t say something like “I think Jesus is the Messiah” but makes it a statement of fact and then shows his evidence. What he is trying to prove is that Jesus was a direct descendent of David and Abraham because it was understood that the Messiah would be from that lineage.

I wonder if he ever had to try and prove this in a court of Jewish law? Was the lineage of each of these people a matter of public record or available in scrolls somewhere? I know that the people of this time put a lot more emphasis on their heritage as it often had much to do with their standing in the eyes of others. Today, our standing is based more on how much stuff we acquire or how much money we make….
This also makes me a little more curious about my own ancestry. I wonder how much information I can get from http://www.ancestry.com without spending any money?
Well, I think maybe it would be good for us to know our own history. We often forget were we came from and how much that influences who we are today. We forget this as a nation too easily as well. If I can, I think I may get some information on my family tree… I do think my last name is Scottish in origin. I wonder if knowing that suddenly makes me a Scottish American and no longer just a plain ‘ol American?

So, this whole passage seems to me to be “proof” supplied for the benefit of any Jewish readers of the time. Matthew is showing the ancestry of Jesus to prove that he is the Messiah. I also note that in verse 1 he makes the clear statement that Jesus is the Messiah and a descendant of David and Abraham. It’s interesting that he doesn’t say something like “I think Jesus is the Messiah” but makes it a statement of fact and then shows his evidence. What he is trying to prove is that Jesus was a direct descendent of David and Abraham because it was understood that the Messiah would be from that lineage.I wonder if he ever had to try and prove this in a court of Jewish law? Was the lineage of each of these people a matter of public record or available in scrolls somewhere? I know that the people of this time put a lot more emphasis on their heritage as it often had much to do with their standing in the eyes of others. Today, our standing is based more on how much stuff we acquire or how much money we make….This also makes me a little more curious about my own ancestry. I wonder how much information I can get from http://www.ancestry.com without spending any money?Well, I think maybe it would be good for us to know our own history. We often forget were we came from and how much that influences who we are today. We forget this as a nation too easily as well. If I can, I think I may get some information on my family tree… I do think my last name is Scottish in origin. I wonder if knowing that suddenly makes me a Scottish American and no longer just a plain ‘ol American?

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

Thank you for covering all the “minor details” in your Word. Usually when I run into a “begat” list, I skip over it, but today I actually thought about why it was there. It seems to me that You care about “proof” and that you are not only expecting me to believe by faith alone. Thank you for being in my life and for all that you have given me. I love You and hope that you will bless this work so that I can come closer to you in understanding and in a relationship. Continue to change my heart and please make me more like you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

