Day 6 | Matthew 2:13-18 | Herod fulfills prophecy


**Please be sure to read all around this passage so that you are getting it in context; and as always, ask the Holy Spirit to guide you to the understanding that He would have you see.

Passage: Matthew 2:13-18

Thoughts:

So Herod’s true nature is revealed in this passage. He finds out that he has been tricked by the wisemen and again makes a very brutal decision to destroy what he sees as a threat. This time instead of getting the actual child, he makes a sweeping decision to destroy all of the male children 2 years of age. What a horrible time that must have been, I cannot even imagine.  Matthew lets us know that this also fulfill’s a prophesy from Jeremiah of “great weeping and mourning” because the children are dead.

A few things stand out to me here:

  • Again there is an attempt to put an abrupt end to the ministry of Jesus
  • Again, God protects his Word made flesh.
  • Matthew shows more evidence of Jesus being the Messiah by connecting this situation to a prophecy
  • Those who listen to God’s instruction and follow Him are protected.

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

I thank you for your promises of protection. I ask you for the ears to hear and the eyes to see and most of all…the heart to believe. It is only through are response to your voice that we can know which direction to go. I ask you for discernment. I ask you to guide me and help me to be a blessing to others by helping them to see your love for them.

Please be with the young woman I heard of today. She was in a terrible car accident and was pregnant. I know that you see this situation and that you love her and her unborn child. Knowing that your will is good and perfect I ask that your will be done. I pray for healing Lord, but in all things I want your will to be done.

Please keep my family safe, Amen.

Leave a Reply

