Day 9 | Matthew 3:4-6 | Course camel hair jacket = devotion


**Please be sure to read all around this passage so that you are getting it in context; and as always, ask the Holy Spirit to guide you to the understanding that He would have you see.

Passage: Matthew 3:4-6

Thoughts:

So here we have it described how John the Baptist is dressed and what it is that he eats to sustain himself. Interesting that he wore and ate only things that could be supplied by God. I gather this from the statement that the clothes seemed to be handmade “coarse camel hair” and the items he ate were both very “wild” indeed. He had obviously spent much time in the wilderness where he was able to commune with God undistracted. He also relied on God completely for his sustenance, clothing, and I would venture to say the message that he preached. He was an example of someone devoted to God entirely.
Does devotion mean that we all have to go out and live in the wilderness? Do we all just give up our jobs and move to the forest? I don’t think this is the “literal” example being set here. The example we can take from John is to be willing to go where God asks us to go. Be willing to rely on Him for our daily bread, the roof over our heads, and the clothes on our backs. This is a visual example of what is already true…we DO rely on God…whether we want to admit it or not. But, God can work with us so much better and on a deeper level if we submit to Him and “know that He is GOD”!

Prayer:

Dear Supreme Provider and Lord of Creation,

I love You. Help me to understand how deeply you love me and want to care for me. Help me to put my faith in you and not just in what my hands can do. You are the Lord of all creation…help me to truly understand the scope of that truth. Lord, I want to live for you. Fill me today with your Holy Spirit and help me to live a life today that glorifies you. Forgive me of my sin. Forgive me of my selfish heart and make it a new heart that beats for you and the spreading of the gospel.

Thank you for all that YOU provide in my life. Please Lord, continue to work in the life of my daughter…help her to see you somehow…and come to You as she should. Help her to always know that I love her very much and nothing could ever make me stop.

Thank you again for being in my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

