Day 12 | Matthew 3:13-17 | The Baptism of Jesus


**Please be sure to read all around this passage so that you are getting it in context; and as always, ask the Holy Spirit to guide you to the understanding that He would have you see.

Passage: Matthew 3:13-17

Thoughts:

I recently studied with a very astute scholar of the word and he pointed something out to me about this passage. He said that John here was unintentionally serving the enemy when he tries to talk Jesus out of the Baptism. Jesus knew that he needed to do this thing. It was written of in the Old Testament and it must be fulfilled (think of the relation between Christs ministry journey and the journey of the Israelites…a journey they failed but He succeeded at), yet here is John, playing the part of humility, attempting to lead Jesus away from something that he must accomplish.

It makes me think about some of the things that I do…unintentionally or otherwise. If I am not following the will of the Father than I am ultimately serving the enemy. Now I’m not saying that I or anyone else am judged unfairly by God in these instances…but it makes me stop and think that maybe I should be more careful with how I live my life. Maybe I should start being more aware of who I am really serving when I do this or that activity. Jesus is our example, and we should seek to follow him always …that means trying to be like him.

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

Come into my heart Lord. Change me into more of Your image…I want to be more like You. As David said Lord, make in me a new heart. Help me to see when my actions are working against You and then give me the strength to change out of love for You and Your ways.

Lord I lift up my prayer list. Please be a heavy presence for all those listed. Heal them spiritually and for those who need it, physically. Most of all Lord, lead them to your pasture of safety and bring them home.

Thank you so much for all that you do and all that you provide. Amen.

Leave a Reply

