Day 35 | Matthew 6:24 | Practice makes perfect


Passage: Matthew 6:24 [NKJV]

Thoughts:

Mat 6:24  “No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

Also as a reference let’s look at this bit of background from the IVP Bible Background Commentary.

Two masters rarely shared slaves, but when they did it always led to divided interests. “Mammon” is an *Aramaic word for possessions or money, and Jesus seems to be personifying it as an idol, using another ancient figure of speech (personification).

To me this is a pretty basic teaching, yet it carries so much weight, power, and significance in my life. If I were to interpret into my own words what Jesus is saying to me, He would be saying, “You must stop serving the world through your partaking in the things of this world; leisure, selfish pursuits, covetousness, and self pride. Instead, choose to serve Me and I can then change you into my image.”

We become what we give our lives to. This is not a demand from Christ to “pick me or die”…it is a teaching of a basic simple truth. What you spend your time doing you become. Here is a little experiment to prove the point.

  1. Take out a piece of paper and a pen or pencil.
  2. Write the numbers 1-20 in a line down the left side of the paper.
  3. Now put the pen or pencil in your opposite hand and write 1-20 next to the previous list.
  4. Make a mental note of which looks better.

Now, if you did the exercise you will have most likely noted that the list of numbers written with your dominant hand looks much neater than the list of numbers written by your least dominant hand. Consider this. What do you think would happen if every day you spent 30 minutes writing that list of numbers with your least dominant hand? Do you think that you would get better at it? Do you think that you would become proficient, over time, with using that hand to write that list of numbers clearly?

What about a professional skateboarder. Do you think they just woke up one morning and said, “I am now really good at skateboarding”? No, of course not. They spent hours and hours practicing to become good at skating. They became a “slave” to that task, and in the end it paid off.

The same is true when it comes to having a relationship with Jesus. We cannot serve two masters…because by trying to we will never become good at either one.

This literally works for the worldly person too. If you spend time in the world, but as a “nominal” Christian the world will notice it and will have disdain for you. They (the world) can sense a Christian who is being a hypocrite…in fact I’d say they are hyper sensitive to it. I’ve seen blogs written by overtly Atheist writers that challenge Christians on their beliefs by using the Bible to prove they (the Christian) are wrong…and the Atheist was right.

Jesus wants us to be slaves to Him completely. It is only through this type of commitment that He can start to work the changes in us that will help us. It is not a matter of salvation, the thief on the cross is proof enough of that, but it is a matter of building a relationship with and growing in Christ. Give your heart to Him completely…hold back nothing and see what amazing things He can do with your life.

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

It is difficult and a struggle to give myself over to you daily. Sometimes the “old man” fights so hard …sometime he even wins. But today, right here and now, I give you my whole heart. I want You to use me today to glorify You. Help my words, thoughts and actions to do that very thing. Help me to grow in You, and with You leading me. I want to practice daily my relationship with you so that I can become more like you…please change my heart in that direction.

Thank You for all that You supply in my life. Thank You for my family, friends, and church. Thank You for Your sacrifice for me and for Your forgiveness. Help me to forgive others.

Please be with the prayer requests on the prayer list. May Your will be done in all things. Amen.

Leave a Reply

