Day 38 | Matthew 7:6 | T-bone steaks for babies


Passage: Matthew 7:6 [NKJV]

Mat 7:6  “Don’t waste what is holy on people who are unholy. Don’t throw your pearls to pigs! They will trample the pearls, then turn and attack you. [NLT]

In my book this passage is very, as the hippies might say, “heavy”…I really want to make sure that I understand it completely. Let’s take a look at some commentary from Vincent’s Word Studies to get another view on this strong statement from Jesus.

Another picture of a rich man wantonly throwing handfuls of small pearls to swine. Swine in Palestine were at best but half-tamed, the hog being an unclean animal. The wild boar haunts the Jordan valley to this day. Small pearls, called by jewellers seed-pearls, would resemble the pease or maize on which the swine feed. They would rush upon them when scattered, and, discovering the cheat, would trample upon them and turn their tusks upon the man who scattered them.

We’ll also look to some commentary from E.G. White, who in my opinion makes it more clear what Jesus is telling us in this passage.

Angels weep to see the precious truth of heavenly origin cast before swine, to be seized by them and trampled with the mire and dirt. Cast not “your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn again and rend you.” These are the words of the world’s Redeemer.
God’s ministers should not count the opportunity of engaging in discussion a great privilege. All points of our faith are not to be borne to the front and presented before the prejudiced crowds. Jesus spoke before the Pharisees and Sadducees in parables, hiding the clearness of truth under symbols and figures because they would make a wrong use of the truths He presented before them; but to His disciples He spoke plainly. We should learn from Christ’s method of teaching and be careful not to cut off the ears of the people by presenting truths which, not being fully explained, they are in no way prepared to receive.
The truths that we hold in common should be dwelt upon first and the confidence of the hearers obtained; then, as the people can be brought along, we can advance slowly with the matter presented. Great wisdom is needed to present unpopular truth before a prejudiced people in the most cautious manner, that access may be gained to their hearts. Discussions place before the people, who are unenlightened in regard to our position and who are ignorant of Bible truth, a set of arguments skillfully gotten up and carefully arranged to cover over the clear points of truth. Some men have made it their business to cover up plain statements of facts in the word of God by their deceptive theories, which they make plausible to those who have not investigated for themselves.
Thoughts:
This passage spoke to my heart tonight. I have often struggled with how to present these wonderful truths and “understandings” of how the world really is to my non-believing friends. To be honest, being around non-believers can get a little overwhelming sometimes. They are so free to speak of the things that give them pleasure; drinking and partying, concerts, the latest fling, and all manner of worldly things. It sometimes feels like holding your breath in a tunnel. You start holding your breath when you first enter the tunnel and you must hold your breath until you reach the end…only then can you take a breath. The tunnel is the work week or the “common” days, the ability to finally take a breath is the Sabbath and the weekend. Now, you can spend time with other believers who want to talk about the wonderful things of God.
Sometimes, when I am around non-believers, I just want to say…
“WHY! Why are you so interested in something that only leads to death! Let me show you something beautiful. Let me show you how Jesus died for you and wants to give you life eternal. Do you see this? It is a beautiful truth that will change your life if you allow it to enter into your heart. Why do you turn from me when I merely speak the name JESUS? Why does that make you shut down? And if I pushed it…if I started to talk about Him more…would you only seek to have me removed so that I wasn’t a bother to you? Would you ultimately seek to destroy me?”
I have even at times felt like I was acting ashamed of God by not forcing the issue with non-believers. Now, I understand that God wants us to give them only what they can eat. Introduce the “food” in amounts that they can stomach so that they don’t vomit it up. They are babies, spiritual infants…you would never give an infant a juicy t-bone steak would you? This is what Jesus is saying to us here. Be discerning about what you share and how you share with non-believers because if you give them too much they may turn on you instead of accepting what you are giving.
Prayer:
Dear Lord,
Please give me the discernment to know when and how to share the wonderful truths of Your Kingdom. They are like jewels, pearls of wisdom, and a balm to my soul. Thank you for giving me the peace that surpasses all understanding. Help me to share you in an effective and useful way. Please, if it is Your will, put someone in my path this week that I can share You with.
Thank You for all that You supply. You deserve all the glory, all the praise, and all the worship that my life can give…help me to give it the right way. I love you Jesus. Amen.
Leave a Reply

