Day 39 | Matthew 7:7-8 | Get off the fence and become a sheep


Passage: Matthew 7:7-8 [NLT]

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.”

Thoughts:

Lately I’ve been feeling pretty strongly that I am not living a life pleasing to God. Sure I go to church every week, I say my prayers every morning 5 days per week (somehow I haven’t found a time on Saturday & Sunday), I talk a good game when in religious discussion with others and I know when to say amen and what spiritual sounding words to say at the right time. But am I feeling like I have a victorious life? Am I feeling like I have fully submitted? The fear inducing answer to that is NO.

How does this fit in with the passage for today? Well, the one thing that I have been doing is feeling that sense of need of victory in Christ. I have been, in my heart of hearts, pleading with God to hold on to me. My deepest prayer is that He will guide me into the victory that I need so that I can finally become the disciple that He deserves. I literally find myself begging Him to never leave me because I feel in my heart that I  have almost fully left Him.

Now, here I am reading this wonderful promise from Jesus in Matthew 7:7-8. He is telling me that if I seek Him and desire victory fully and with all of my heart the door will be opened. Is that not a wonderful promise?

I am tired. I am tired of letting the “old man” win in my life. I have been a captive for a very long time. The enemy wants to remind me of that right now. But, I’m sick of listening to his negative spirit. I’m sick of lying to myself. I’m sick of leading a double life. I’m sick of sitting on the fence of life and never really living for Christ fully. I’m ready to climb down off the fence and become a sheep in the pasture overseen by the great shepherd….are you?

Jesus will never take away my power to choose…but He can and does instill in me the desire to not sin. I am ready to start listening to the promptings of the Holy Spirit. I want to live for Jesus daily! Join me reader. Choose victory…stop finding excuses to remain a captive and start finding reasons to do what is right in the eyes of God.

But what about when I fail, you say?

See that failure for what it is. It is sin. As Christians we should hate sin. Now that you hate the sin (never hate yourself) turn from it towards Christ and ask Him to forgive you. He longs to forgive you as much as He longs for us to gain victory.

Gaining victory, through Christ, over sin in your life is NOT LEGALISM. It is victory promised! Ask Jesus today, and every day forward to live in your heart. Crucify the old man every morning…ask, knock, seek, beg, plead, desire it and God will answer you. He promised…

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

This morning I ask that you give me victory today. I know that I will be faced with many temptations today…some will be big to me…some may be easy. I ask that you show me the right choice in each situation and give me the power, through You, to overcome. I certainly cannot do it on my own, but I know with your help and by submitting to You I can gain victories large and small.

Thank You for Your sacrifice and for being willing “that none should perish”. You are such a loving and merciful God. Help me to live a life that truly shows thankfulness to You. Help me to be a light to others. Help me to not be judgemental or unkind. Help me to show You to others, especially my daughter.

I love You Lord, and today I want to worship You with all my heart. Amen.

One thought on “Day 39 | Matthew 7:7-8 | Get off the fence and become a sheep

  1. Hi Jon,

    It is good to seek the Lord. We must. Many today seek the house of God (Bethel), but we are instructed in Scripture to seek the God of the house (El Bethel). Be greatly encouraged that God is reviving your soul unto Him and Him alone.

    I saw your comment on my post, “lament,” today and I thank you for your thoughts. That was written quite some time ago, but it is never far from my heart. The grief I expressed then is the grief I carry still, only change is that I’ve grown more accustomed (not apathetic) to the sorrow, as the days have only gotten darker. But God has been strengthening me all the same, and my joy is found only in Him. God bless.
    -Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

