Day 47 | Matthew 8:5-13 | No Faith Like This in Israel


Passage: Matthew 8:5-13 [NLT]

5 Now when Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to Him, pleading with Him, 6 saying, “Lord, my servant is lying at home paralyzed, dreadfully tormented.”
7 And Jesus said to him, “I will come and heal him.”
8 The centurion answered and said, “Lord, I am not worthy that You should come under my roof. But only speak a word, and my servant will be healed. 9 For I also am a man under authority, having soldiers under me. And I say to this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.
10 When Jesus heard it, He marveled, and said to those who followed, “Assuredly, I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel! 11 And I say to you that many will come from east and west, and sit down with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven. 12 But the sons of the kingdom will be cast out into outer darkness. There will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” 13 Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.” And his servant was healed that same hour. [NKJV]

Thoughts:

What is faith? What is it built on? These are big questions in the life of a Christian. In the passage for today we have an example of what Jesus called greater faith than could even be found in the nation of Israel…and it came from a gentile soldier!

I would like to consider for a moment the fact that many of the Christians churches today teach what I like to call “faith worship”. The pastors of these churches are leading their congregation into the idea that “if I just have ENOUGH faith” God can do anything for me; including heal me or my loved one. When the desired healing doesn’t happen they simply tell the supplicant; “Sorry, it seems you just didn’t have enough faith.” Oh how horrible and deceitful is this practice. Notice the SIMPLE, yes I said simple, faith of the Centurion. He did not flail his arms in the air. He did not muster up feelings of adoration or feelings of “worship”. He did not “work up” faith; he simply and truly believed that Jesus had the power to heal his servant. Simple faith; real faith. He even took the time to explain his faith by saying that he understood the power that Jesus had. He explained that he knew Jesus had power over life because he also, in a sense, had power over life. When he said to one of his servants or soldiers go here or go there, they obeyed. In this he illustrated his understanding of Christs power. If Jesus says to a dead man, RISE, he will rise because Jesus has the power over death. Simple understanding.

The other thing that the Centurion understood was that the power was in Jesus; not in himself, to heal the servant. Often today people will travel far and wide to see or be in the presence of a faith healer. This is a simple conundrum. There can be no such thing as a faith healer. They cannot be real, because it is Jesus who does the healing, not a man. Jesus decides who gets healed and through whom he will do the healing, not us. Any man who says that he can create or call on the healing power of Jesus is saying that he can control Jesus and is not allowing the Holy Spirit or Jesus the choice; but claiming the choice for themselves. This is evil. This is wrong. Do not believe these men. They are devils.

True healing comes from Christ and Christ alone. He is the Almighty. He decides whom he will heal through, not the man performing the healing. So again, if a man comes to you and says “I can heal you through faith” then be wary.

Prayer:

Dear Lord,

You are the Great Physician. You and You alone have power over death and life. He are able to heal sickness that man has never. You perform miracles, not us. You decide, through perfect judgement, who to heal. Thank you for giving us the ultimate healing through Your provided salvation.

Please, now, I ask that You will heal those people in my life that are sick. Heal my son. Heal my wife. I know you can; there is no doubt. Beyond my personal desire to have my loved ones healed I desire more Your will. I believe that You want one thing more than any thing and that is to restore the relationship with us. You want us to dwell with You more than anything else. Thank You so much for that!

Be with my family and with all of the prayer request that are in my heart. I love You Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

