Day 48 | Matthew 8:14-15 | What is Your Response to Jesus?


Passage: Matthew 8:14-15 [NLT]

14 Now when Jesus had come into Peter’s house, He saw his wife’s mother lying sick with a fever. 15 So He touched her hand, and the fever left her. And she arose and served them.

Thoughts:

A fever. She only had a fever, and yet Jesus took the time to take this small “irritant” out of her life. To me this is a small example of how Jesus is interested in even the small things that may be a problem in our lives. There is no concern or care to big or too small that Jesus doesn’t want to help. Often we take the big things to him, not knowing any other way; but, think about this my friend, isn’t that the same as saying “Lord, I will bring you the things that I can’t take care of myself”. Jesus wants to take care of all of it so that we can see Him working in every aspect of our lives. Bring Him all of your concerns, He wants to help.

Let’s also look at the mother-in-law and how she immediately, after being made better, seeks to serve. This too should be our response to the working of Jesus in our lives. He will remove those little things that are obstacles in our lives which keep us from helping others to know and learn about Him. What is your response when Jesus removes an obstacle in your life? Do you praise Him and then just go about your business? What should our response be?

How selfish of us to often think that Jesus wants to bless us so that we only can share in that blessing. Blessings are given so that they can be imparted. To hold a blessing to yourself is a selfish thing and selfishness is the sin problem.

If Jesus has blessed you in some way, big or small, reach out and share that blessing with others. Let it multiply, let it grow. Jesus loves you so much and it is only by sharing that love that you can truly know it in your heart.

Prayer:

Lord, first I ask that you help me to never miss a blessing that You provide. Second, I ask that You help me to share those blessings. Help me to remember the source of my life, You, and help me to share that source with others.

Thank you for all that you provide in my life. Help me to be a good steward of your providence. Help me to seek you in even the small things that I so often just take care of myself.

Watch over and protect my family. Forgive me sins Lord and change my heart. Remove the selfishness that keeps me from sharing Your love. Amen.

Leave a Reply

