Day 52 | Matthew 8:28-34 | They begged Him to leave them alone


Passage: Matthew 8:28-34 [NKJV]

Mat 8:28  When Jesus arrived on the other side of the lake, in the region of the Gadarenes, two men who were possessed by demons met Him. They lived in a cemetery and were so violent that no one could go through that area. Mat 8:29  They began screaming at Him, “Why are You interfering with us, Son of God? Have You come here to torture us before God’s appointed time?” Mat 8:30  There happened to be a large herd of pigs feeding in the distance. Mat 8:31  So the demons begged, “If You cast us out, send us into that herd of pigs.” Mat 8:32  “All right, go!” Jesus commanded them. So the demons came out of the men and entered the pigs, and the whole herd plunged down the steep hillside into the lake and drowned in the water. Mat 8:33  The herdsmen fled to the nearby town, telling everyone what happened to the demon-possessed men. Mat 8:34  Then the entire town came out to meet Jesus, but they begged Him to go away and leave them alone. [NLT]

Thoughts:

Jesus has just traveled from a great distance, in a small boat to arrive at this town in the region of Gadarenes. Another teachable moment for the disciples? Why this town? Anyway, there are two demon possessed men, Jesus frees them, miraculously, and then the whole town asks Him to leave them alone. How sad. These people who should have embraced a loving Savior who wanted nothing more than to heal them and be with them and care for them, was asked to leave. Friends, do we do this to Jesus.

“NO WAY! I would never tell Him to leave me alone.”

Well, have you considered how much time you’ve really spent with him lately?

“Why I spend 15 minutes every morning reading my Bible”

And, just as a comparison, how much time do you spend watching TV?

“Well uh, that’s not important…I need my down time.”

But He’s asking for more time. He wants to be your friend and he can’t really have a relationship with you in 15 minutes.

“I learn a lot in the 15 minutes. I’ve picked up great ideas on how to be a good father, employee, neighbor, church member. It’s really helped me a lot…so how can you say 15 minutes isn’t enough?”

Well, how’s your relationship with your wife?

“It’s good. We get along really well.”

And how about your kids..how are things with them?

“Okay I guess. They are teenagers now and suddenly they don’t want to spend a whole lot of time with boring ‘ol dad.”

Hmmm…that’s interesting. Do you know much about what is going on in their lives?

“Not much really, but they won’t spend any time with me. How am I supposed to know what they are doing and how they are feeling if they won’t spend time with me or talk with me….HEY! Wait a minute. You tricked me into that answer.”

Not really. But do you get the point?

“Yes, I think that I do. Wow, I really have been neglecting my time with Him. But do you really think He wants to spend time with me hearing about all my silly complaints and problems? Jesus doesn’t really have time for me does He?”

He died for you friend. He loves you so much that he gave up the glories of heaven and allowed Himself to be crucified so that He might have the opportunity to restore a relationship with you. Believe that…He’s said it many times and He means it 100% of the time.

“I never really thought of it that way. I want to get to know Jesus as my friend and they only way I can do that is by spending time with Him. I’m going to start doing that; and I am going to make it quality real time with Him. Thanks for the reality check!”

Just remember how much He loves you…can you deny such an amazing request for friendship? I sure don’t want to.

________

Friends. Please listen. Jesus wants so much to spend time with you. He loves you more than you can imagine and He loves you no matter what. If you will only spend time with Him, He will communicate with you and you will start to desire that time with Him more than anything else in your life. Television will become an irritating distraction; no need to “Kill your TV”…just spend time with Him and the tv will become a dusty flower-pot holder. 🙂

Prayer:

Lord, give us hearts that burn with a desire to know You more. Help us to see how much you love us and to respond to that love. Please bless this simple blog and help it to help others. Let me know Your will and help me to follow it. I love You. Amen.

One thought on “Day 52 | Matthew 8:28-34 | They begged Him to leave them alone

Leave a Reply

