Day 59 | Matthew 9:27-31 | Now I can see


Scripture: Matthew 9:27-31 [NLT]

27 When Jesus departed from there, two blind men followed Him, crying out and saying, “Son of David, have mercy on us!”
28 And when He had come into the house, the blind men came to Him. And Jesus said to them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”
They said to Him, “Yes, Lord.”
29 Then He touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith let it be to you.” 30 And their eyes were opened. And Jesus sternly warned them, saying, “See that no one knows it. 31 But when they had departed, they spread the news about Him in all that country. (Matthew 9:27-31, New King James Version)

Jesus heals a blind man

Observation: (What does your mind’s eye see when you read this scripture?)

I see these two blind men, probably dressed in rags as they most likely were beggars , walking along behind Jesus after he leaves the young girls house. They are calling out to Him as the “Son of David” and I get the sense that Jesus may have not responded to them until he got to the home where He was staying. Just a little test of faith. Note that they did not get discouraged and stop trying. When they got to the house they simply followed Him in. This could also show that possibly Jesus had beckoned them in. Now that they are in the house He turns and faces them. I see them with yearning on their faces straining to hear the voice of Jesus; and then He speaks. He asks them if they believe that He can make them see and they quickly respond with a YES knodding their heads.

Now Jesus walks up to them and touches their faces, something that probably hasn’t been done for a very long time. I see them waiting for some feeling of massive power to wash over them or consume them, but instead it is a peaceful process. They suddenly get a sense of light and as they open their eyes they start to make out the tender face of Jesus; it becomes clear and they see the power and authority and love for them radiating from that face. What a glorious feeling!

Something to note here…when Jesus healed these men (and many others) they did not fall to the ground or get “slammed’ by the Holy Spirit causing them to crumble or fall back. No, they were simply healed by the one who had created them in the first place. Remember that next time you are watching some flamboyant healer on television or in person. Are you really watching the power of God at work? Where is the peace…?

Now I see them running through the streets, bubbling over with praise and excitement that they just can’t keep in. Jesus knew this would happen and by telling them to be quiet he was only helping to show that it is impossible to remain quiet when you have been touched by Him.

Application: (How can I apply this to my life?)

I see that I need simple faith/trust/belief in my Savior. No strings attached. Jesus did not tell them “I will heal you if…” he told them that because they believed in His power to make them well that He would do it. HE is the one doing it. HIM and HIM alone. They only needed to believe that it was possible. This is another lesson to me on putting my faith in Jesus and letting him handle my salvation.

Prayer: (Tell Him how you feel)

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for being willing to heal us. I praise You and Your name because You alone can make me whole. Heal my heart Lord. Take my life and make it useful for you.

Keep my family, friends, and church safe. Bring us all closer to You. Thank You for all that you provide and know that I love You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

