Day 60 | Matthew 9:32-34 | Confusion leads away from Jesus


Scripture: Matthew 9:32-34 [NLT]

32 As they went out, behold, they brought to Him a man, mute and demon-possessed. 33 And when the demon was cast out, the mute spoke. And the multitudes marveled, saying, “It was never seen like this in Israel!”
34 But the Pharisees said, “He casts out demons by the ruler of the demons.” (Matthew 9:32-34, New King James Version)

Jesus heals demon possessed man

Observation: (What does your mind’s eye see when you read this scripture?)

I see the notoriety of Jesus growing. People are starting to hear about the amazing things he has done; his raising of the dead girl and the healing of the blind men, so they bring him a demon possessed man who is mute. No fanfare, no sprinkling of holy water or incantations…He simply tells the demon to leave the man. Remember who is the one doing the casting out? The one who created the demon in the first place. I don’t mean that Jesus created a “demon” I mean that he created the perfect angel that has now become an evil demon. He has the power over all living things and created things, because He is the Creator.

I see this man suddenly being able to talk. What a glorious moment for him and his friends to finally be rid of this terrible curse. Demon possession must be a little like being drunk. You don’t have full control of your body or mind. I imagine the healing or casting out as being a little like being made sober and clear headed instantly. (My own musings)

The religious leaders (pastors and great scholars) are watching and they see a chance to discredit Jesus. So, without directly and openly accusing Him, they start whispering to those in the crowd their suspicious musings that Jesus may be using the power of the Devil to do these miracles. They are introducing confusion to something that is good and pure and real.

Application: (How can I apply this to my life?)

As the strength of the Word grows in your life. As the power of the Spirit starts to make changes the enemy will seek to bring chaos and confusion in to draw you away from it. He will introduce new ways of thinking or wonderful paths of knowledge, but you will soon discover that they have led you away from Christ instead of to Him. He was there, always easily accessible in the Words of the gospels, but you somehow found something “better”…more exciting, and were led astray.

I have purposed in my heart to learn more about Jesus in all that I study. This is the one pursuit that Satan cannot stand…and I love the idea of rebelling against the greatest rebel of all. However, I have to understand that I will be met with resistance…and the one true source of help against that resistance is the One that I seek. What a wonderful thing is this!

Prayer: (Let Him know what you are thinking)

Dear Jesus,

I want so much to know You better. I know that the enemy is going to do everything he can to lead me away from You. But, I also know that you are the one who can protect me from his misleadings and help to keep me focused on You. Today, and every day, I ask that you will help me to find You. Please come into my life and fill me with Your Spirit.

Please be with the small bible study groups that I am in. Help us to stay focused on you and to not be led astray. We need the Good Shepherd. I ask for Your staff to keep us on the safe path.

Thank you Lord for all that you provide in my life. I ask that Your will be done in my work life. May everything that I do bring You glory. Amen.

__________________

Be sure to enjoy the journey by leaving your comments!

Leave a Reply

