Day 71 | Matthew 12:14-21 | His Name will be the hope of all the world


Scripture: Matthew 12:14-21 [NLT]

14 Then the Pharisees went out and plotted against Him, how they might destroy Him.
15 But when Jesus knew it, He withdrew from there. And great multitudes followed Him, and He healed them all. 16 Yet He warned them not to make Him known, 17 that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by Isaiah the prophet, saying:
18 “ Behold! My Servant whom I have chosen,
My Beloved in whom My soul is well pleased!
I will put My Spirit upon Him,
And He will declare justice to the Gentiles.
19 He will not quarrel nor cry out,
Nor will anyone hear His voice in the streets.
20 A bruised reed He will not break,
And smoking flax He will not quench,
Till He sends forth justice to victory;
21 And in His name Gentiles will trust.” (Matthew 12:14-21, New King James Version)

Jesus heals the crowds of every sickness

Observation: (What do you see when you read this scripture?)

Jesus understood that what he was doing would make Him hated among the “religious” people so He leaves the place where they are plotting His murder and is followed by a large crowd. He goes among those sick and hurt people, touching them, talking to them, loving them and heals each one.

Knowing even now that His time is short and never wanting glory for Himself He asks those He touches to not reveal who He is.

Next we get a quote from Isaiah; a prophetic quote that delivers the character that Christ would have and what He would represent to all the world. HOPE.

Let me ask you a question reader. Can you think of any other name in all the world that supplies the level of hope that Jesus does. Obama? Does he give you hope for life eternal? What about George Bush? Does his name fill you with healing power and give you strength to face any obstacle? Give your heart to the one that cares for it so much that he would treat is like a tender reed or a flickering candle. Give it to the one that builds you up and never tears you down. If you’re in need of hope, turn to the only one that can give you hope that fills the soul and springs eternally.Turn to Jesus dear friends…

Application: (Apply what you have learned to your life)

I am filled with hope by reading this. More and more I realize that I have chosen to give my heart to the only one that can fill it with anything of value. Today, I give my heart to Jesus and ask Him to fill me up.

Prayer: (Let Him know what you think)

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for giving me hope in this dying world. I give you my life today and ask that you use me in some way. Please watch over my family and please be with my wife as her job will soon become more of a struggle. Lord, you know that situation and I ask that You lead us to the answer we need.

Please care for my daughter and son. Keep them safe and bring them to You. Please bless this blog and our bible study groups. Reveal Yourself to us all in a new way. Fill us with your Holy Spirit and give us the power to do Your work. I love you Lord. Amen

Leave a comment