Day 72 | Matthew 12:22-30 | A kingdom divided will not survive


Scripture: Matthew 12:22-30 [NLT]
22 Then one was brought to Him who was demon-possessed, blind and mute; and He healed him, so that the blind and mute man both spoke and saw. 23 And all the multitudes were amazed and said, “Could this be the Son of David?”
24 Now when the Pharisees heard it they said, “This fellow does not cast out demons except by Beelzebub, the ruler of the demons.”
25 But Jesus knew their thoughts, and said to them: “Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation, and every city or house divided against itself will not stand. 26 If Satan casts out Satan, he is divided against himself. How then will his kingdom stand? 27 And if I cast out demons by Beelzebub, by whom do your sons cast them out? Therefore they shall be your judges. 28 But if I cast out demons by the Spirit of God, surely the kingdom of God has come upon you. 29 Or how can one enter a strong man’s house and plunder his goods, unless he first binds the strong man? And then he will plunder his house. 30 He who is not with Me is against Me, and he who does not gather with Me scatters abroad. (Matthew 12:22-30, New King James Version)

Jesus casts out demons

Observation: (What do you see when you read this scripture?)

We see Jesus standing in the midst of a crowd healing the sick. A demon possessed man is brought to him that is both blind and mute. Jesus heals him so that he can both see and speak. The key to this scripture is what happens next. The crowds are now starting to give a louder voice to the idea that Jesus might just be the very Messiah that they have been waiting for.

This upswing in support for Jesus is a threat to the power that the Pharisees currently hold. Now they start to actively work against Jesus and seek to discredit Him in any way that they can. They accuse Him of casting out demons in the name of the Devil.

Jesus knows their hearts. He sees their intent and simply explains a natural law. How can a kingdom that works against itself survive? He then, in a clear way shows His kingdom is at hand by explaining that if He is casting out demons by the Spirit of God, surely the kingdom of God is at hand. He further explains by basically saying that he has come to take the spoils (us) from the strongman (Satan) because He is stronger than the strongman.

Finally, Jesus explains another simple truth. Anyone who isn’t with Me is against Me. Another way of saying, there is no middle ground…if you are not working with Jesus, you are automatically working against Him.

Application: (How do I apply this to my life?)

The simple truth of “either your with My or against Me” applies to everyone who lives or has ever lived, including me. Jesus wants me to know that unless I am actively working with Him I am doing the opposite; working against Him. I cannot simply, step aside from the “war” and not be involved. Sometimes are silence in a situation speaks louder than words. An easy example. If I see an atrocity or wrong being done to another person, do I not show my acceptance of that thing by not speaking against it or doing something to stop it? Today, I will actively seek out an opportunity to help someone else.

Prayer: (Tell the Lord of All what you think)

Dear Lord,

Today, I want to do something to further your Kingdom. I want so much to help bring someone else the comforting knowledge of Your love and forgiveness. Please help me to recognize a chance to help and to know what to do.

Thank You for caring for me and my family. Thank You for Your Word. Help me to change…never stop working on my heart and please never let me go.

Please be with my daughter and my son. Please be with Thomas as he enters into youth…help him to make good decisions and to see that You are the only way. Lord, help me to be better at showing You to others.

Protect me from the enemy today, protect my family as well. I love you Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

