Day 79 | Matthew 13:24-30 | Wheat and tares


Scripture: Matthew 13:24-30 [NLT]

24 Another parable He put forth to them, saying: “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field; 25 but while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat and went his way. 26 But when the grain had sprouted and produced a crop, then the tares also appeared. 27 So the servants of the owner came and said to him, ‘Sir, did you not sow good seed in your field? How then does it have tares?’ 28 He said to them, ‘An enemy has done this.’ The servants said to him, ‘Do you want us then to go and gather them up?’ 29 But he said, ‘No, lest while you gather up the tares you also uproot the wheat with them. 30 Let both grow together until the harvest, and at the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, “First gather together the tares and bind them in bundles to burn them, but gather the wheat into my barn.”’” (Matthew 13:24-30, New King James Version)

"...the enemy came and planted weeds among the wheat, then slipped away."

Observation: (What do you see when you read this scripture?)

Again we have Jesus telling a story to illustrate the Kingdom of Heaven. This time we have a farmer planting wheat (Jesus and/or the Holy Spirit) and we have the enemy (satan). The other players in the story are the wheat, (God’s children) the tares (those who pretend belief) and the farmer’s workers (preachers and/or other believers). Some other players you maybe haven’t recognized are the harvesters (angels and/or the Holy Spirit) and the bundles (different Christian denominations or churches?)

What happens in the story? The tares or weeds are planted by the enemy directly with the wheat so that they grow up together. The farmer’s workers recognize them and want to do something about it, but the farmer says to leave them until the harvest time because in “pulling” them up you might also uproot the wheat. The harvest time will be the last days in which a real decision for Christ will do the separating of the wheat from the tares. The tares will be bundled up, or grouped together, which tells me that like minded people will be brought together by the harvesters so that the wheat can now be used.

Application: (How can I apply this to my life?)

There are a couple of interesting things that stand out to me now as I read this parable. One is the bundles and two is the lack of other plant types. In the end there are only two kinds of people, true believers and those who grew with them and maybe even thought of themselves as wheat, but ultimately they were just weeds in a wheat field. Why isn’t there a third plant type; one that represents the wicked or atheists or pagans? I think it is because there will only be two groups in the end…everyone will make a decision for Christ, some with sincerity, others without.

So the question becomes..”Which one am I? The wheat or the tare.” It’s interesting that sometimes I feel like one and sometimes I feel like the other. It could be a sign of being lukewarm.

There are times I have told myself that I look forward to that moment in the last days in which we will be able to truly show where our heart is. That moment when we will have to make that final decision for or against truth in Christ. Everything else is building us up to make one choice or the other. However, I also think that Jesus wants us to make that “final” choice now, today. Waiting could cause bundling…

Prayer: (Let Him know what you are thinking and needing)

Dear Father in Heaven,

Please forgive me of my sins Lord. Thank You so much for giving us the opportunity to make a choice. Thank You for making that choice clear; now I ask that you give me the victory over sin in my life so that I don’t have to feel so lukewarm. Help me to fully become usable wheat.

Be with Carissa and myself as we travel today. Keep us safe on the roads. Please Lord, watch over her in Alaska and in her travels alone on the ferry. Send someone into her life that will be able to show her who You really are.

Leave a Reply

