Day 82 | Matthew 13:44-52 | What is the treasure of heaven?


Scripture: Matthew 13:44-52 [NLT]
44 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.   
45 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, 46 who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.   
47 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a dragnet that was cast into the sea and gathered some of every kind, 48 which, when it was full, they drew to shore; and they sat down and gathered the good into vessels, but threw the bad away. 49 So it will be at the end of the age. The angels will come forth, separate the wicked from among the just, 50 and cast them into the furnace of fire. There will be wailing and gnashing of teeth.”
51 Jesus said to them, “Have you understood all these things?”
They said to Him, “Yes, Lord.”
52 Then He said to them, “Therefore every scribe instructed concerning the kingdom of heaven is like a householder who brings out of his treasure things new and old.” (Matthew 13:44-52, New King James Version)

"...who brings from his storeroom new gems of truth as well as old."

Observation: (What do you see and hear when you read this scripture?)

At first Jesus uses parables to teach the value of finding, gaining and keeping the Kingdom of Heaven. Having God in your life and the treasure of truth and eternal life is of such great value that those who find it are willing to give up everything else to have it.

A response to the gospel, the Creator, and His plan for our lives will be what drives our actions and our thoughts to acquire more of His rich blessings.

Also, near the end of this passage, we see a reference to “old” and “new”. This is referring to the treasures that are available to us from both the old and new testament. Truths that are from the same “storehouse”; Jesus. It is a grave mistake to discard the teachings of the old or the new testament. The Jewish religion discards the new inspired teachings be denying Christ as their Messiah, but we also have many “Christians” who do not understand that the same Jesus who instructs them from the new testament is the Jesus who instructed through Moses in the old testament. Much is lost if either path is taken, separated from the other.

Apply: (How can I apply this to my life?)

I can apply this to my life by asking myself the question; “How important is the Kingdom of Heaven to me?”. Am I willing to give up everything for it? It seems at times that I am so busy in the world that I don’t take the time I should with Jesus. My priorities are all catiwhompus and I need to bring myself back. I feel I am in one of those times now…it is time to give Jesus the time in my life that He so richly deserves. If you are reading this please pray for me that I can truly make Jesus the center of my life; where He belongs.

Prayer: (Let Him know what your thinking)

Lord,

I’m stuck. It was a struggle this morning to even bring myself to the point of writing again. I’m feeling so unworthy of Your love and I am sure at times that You can’t really forgive me for these same things I continue to do over and over again. Please help me to find You again. Please work a miracle in my heart…change me.

Be with my children; keep them safe. Thank You for all that You provide in my life. Help me to work well and to do all for Your glory….help me to desire Your glory over mine. Amen.

Leave a Reply

