Day 85 | Matthew 14:15-21 | Jesus feeds 5,000


Scripture:Matthew 14:15-21 [NLT]
15 When it was evening, His disciples came to Him, saying, “This is a deserted place, and the hour is already late. Send the multitudes away, that they may go into the villages and buy themselves food.”
16 But Jesus said to them, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.”
17 And they said to Him, “We have here only five loaves and two fish.”
18 He said, “Bring them here to Me.” 19 Then He commanded the multitudes to sit down on the grass. And He took the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven, He blessed and broke and gave the loaves to the disciples; and the disciples gave to the multitudes. 20 So they all ate and were filled, and they took up twelve baskets full of the fragments that remained. 21 Now those who had eaten were about five thousand men, besides women and children. (Matthew 14:15-21, New King James Version)

Jesus blesses the loaves and fishes

Jesus blesses the loaves and fishes

Observation: (What do you see when you read this scripture?)

Here we have a lesson of moving forward in faith and the power that God gives us to do great things for Him, in simple matters. The matter at hand here was a great multitude of hungry people. Those who are lost around us are that multitude. We see Jesus take a simple fisherman’s meal and by imparting instruction to the disciples, instructions that include feeding others first before themselves, he feeds those in need completely and even has leftovers. The disciples were the channel of communication between Christ and the people. All of us today that are working for Christ can learn from this story; learn that Jesus will supply the food if we will only be willing to feed those in need. By this I mean spiritual food as well as temporal.

Note that the miracle that supplied for the disciples needs only came after they shared what they had with the multitude. So it is today. If you have been given the gift of spiritual freedom, you must impart it to others for it to grow. Many can be fed; but someone has to be willing to serve. The most intelligent, the most spiritually minded, can give only as they receive. Of themselves they can supply nothing for the needs of the soul. We can give only that which we receive from Christ; and we can receive only as we give to others.

Apply: (How can I apply this to my life today?)

I must give more of myself to others. By giving I can receive more and help more. I need to go to the source of the Bread of Life and receive the spiritual food that can be shared with others.

Prayer: (Let the Lord know what is on your mind)

Dear Father in Heaven,

Thank You for concerning Yourself with my needs. Lord, today I ask for your holy food to be given to me so that I can impart it to others. I want to be a help to You. Please change me Lord so that I can be a better disciple. Increase my faith. Decrease me so that You can be glorified. Remove my selfish heart and replace it with one that cares for others.

Thank You for all that You provide. Help me to be more thankful. Protect and watch over my children and please do whatever it takes to get them into the Kingdom with You. Amen

 

Leave a Reply

