Day 93 | Matthew 16:13-20 | Who do you say that I am?


Who do you say that I am?

Scripture: Matthew 16:13-20 [NLT]

Peter Confesses Jesus as the Christ

13 When Jesus came into the region of Caesarea Philippi, He asked His disciples, saying, “Who do men say that I, the Son of Man, am?” 
14 So they said, “Some say John the Baptist, some Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.”
15 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” 
16 Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”
17 Jesus answered and said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but My Father who is in heaven. 18 And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it. 19 And I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.”
20 Then He commanded His disciples that they should tell no one that He was Jesus the Christ. [NKJV]

"Who do you say that I am?"

Jesus begins this conversation while coming into the region of Caesarea Philippi. Many interpret this differently but a good interpretation would be to picture Jesus walking toward Caesarea Philippi with his disciples and He is checking in with them to test where the sentiment lies concerning who He is. Notice that at the time many people were still guessing that he was a prophet, (a mistake the muslims of today still make) some thinking He may be Elijah or Jeremiah returned. Now Jesus gets to the point, because He really wants to make sure that the disciples are thinking and feeling the way they need to. I think Jesus is ready to correct them at this point, if needed.

Peter names Jesus correctly by calling Him the Messiah, the Son of the Living God. His name or title is so important. It points to who He really is and why He really came to this earth. He is the Messiah, the one who will save us, the one who was anointed and chosen by God to live a sinless life for us. He is the Son or direct descendant of the God of the Universe and He is divine. He is the divine Son of the Living God, not a God carved from stone or wood but a Living God and the source of all Life.

Jesus now “commends” Peter on his understanding and notes that “flesh and blood” hadn’t revealed this truth to him but the Father in Heaven had. Many people might gloss over this point in the text and think that the “flesh and blood” meant other men; but through some research I tend to agree with others that Jesus was referring to Himself. In other words, He was saying to Peter my human state, my human status and apparent rank in society has not revealed this to you, but it has been revealed to you from the spiritual nature (given to me by the Father in Heaven) that you have witnessed in Me. Christ’s character, his indwelling Spirit fed power, His spiritual authority was recognized by Peter; and this was most important because Jesus will later share with the disciples what must soon come…His death on the cross.

Next Jesus gives a “commission” to Peter. Many people, myself included, have misinterpreted this passage to mean that when Jesus refers to “the rock” he is referring to himself. It is because of the abuses of the Catholic church with this text that we end up misusing it ourselves. Jesus is commending Peter here. He is in essence saying. “You are a rock. You have shown yourself solid, and suitable for the work of laying the foundation of the church. Upon you will I build it. You will be highly honored; you shall be first in making known the gospel to both Jews and Gentiles.”

This was accomplished. See Acts 2:14-36, where he first preached to the Jews, and Acts 10, where he preached the gospel to Cornelius and his neighbors, who were Gentiles. Peter had thus the honor of laying the foundation of the church among the Jews and Gentiles; and this is the clearer meaning of this passage. This commission to Peter was not, as the Roman Catholic church tries to say, to exalt Peter to supreme authority above the other apostles or to say that Peter was the only one through which He would build His church…see Acts 15 where the advice of James was followed and not Peters. See also Galatians 2:11 where Paul opposes Peter to his face because what Peter was doing was very wrong.

If I had to sum up the whole meaning of this passage it would be this, ” I will make you the honored tool of making known my gospel, first to the Jews and Gentiles, and I will make you a strong and distinguished preacher in building my church.”

Jesus ends with an command to the disciples to “..not tell anyone that He was the Messiah.” It was not yet time for Him to be revealed as the Messiah because His mission was not yet completed. This also insinuates that the disciples were all in agreement that He was what Peter claimed aloud that He was.

What truly reveals the spirit of God working in someone?

Probably the one thing that stood out the most in my mind from this passage was not the common question regarding this text; “Was Peter the first Pope?”. This is clearly and easily shown to be a misuse of the text for the purpose of seeing your own will in the Word of God instead of seeing the Will of God. What really stuck in my craw was the idea that Jesus pointed out that His humanness was not what showed his true stature to Peter, but His spiritual status.

Too often we judge the spiritual status of someone based on our observance of what they may do, or accomplish, or look like or own; in other words “their human flesh”. We see them in nice suits and their charisma or smooth speaking charms us and we think “Surely this man is being used by God.” But what truly reveals the spirit of God working in someone? Is it words alone? What are the deeds of the heart? How do they display themselves?

Jesus not only spoke as though he was one with the Father, but he “acted” as though He was one with the Father, having the same character as the Father, the same wants and desires as the Father, and the same goals; even unto death, as the Father.

So often our goals are self based. Even in our spiritual walk everything we do is tainted with protecting self, worrying about elevating self, glorifying self. But if we can be led by the Holy Spirit, ah yes!, then we can allow ourselves to do the works of the Father from His directives and from His promptings. We can reach a point where the one desire of the heart is to glorify God and to do His will. We can only reach this point by asking the Holy Spirit to guide our hearts, lead us to spiritual understanding, and then give us the power to accomplish the Father’s Will in our lives. It is called surrender. It isn’t easy…especially if we try to do it through our own will…but it is clearly necessary to live a victorious life.

Surrender today. Ask God to forgive your sins and then come into your life. He will help you; it is the deepest desire of His heart.

Prayer:

Thank you God for loving us so much. Help me Lord to overcome my selfish heart so that You may be glorified in my life. Forgive my sin and help me to spend the time with You that I want to but never seem to be able to. Help me to help others in the right way. Let them see You through me.

Thank You for all that You do in my life. Thank You for all that You provide. You are all that matters. Amen.

  • Who am I (awordfromgodsword.wordpress.com)
10 thoughts on “Day 93 | Matthew 16:13-20 | Who do you say that I am?

  1. Ok. Well my question in regards to your background in language and culture was by no means a personal attack. Please accept my apologies.

    Before we get into this scripture that you’ve quoted, I’d appreciate it if you would first state the teachings that the Catholic Church has which you state are contrary to the Bible. If you are making an attempt to use the quoted scripture, please state the contrary teaching.

    Thanks again.
    My iPad won’t let me sign in so I had to make a new profile again. 😦

    • Hello Jason,

      I accept your apology and hope that you will understand that I don’t claim any great knowledge other than my ability to pray for guidance, my desire to learn from God, my ability to use the tools available to me (concordance, dictionary, IVP bible background commentary), and my desire for truth.

      I’m not surprised by this but you don’t seem to want to just look at what the bible says and tell me what you think it means. Just try it. Read the verse, read all around it. Make sure you read it in context and then tell me what YOU think it means.

      So, with that said, I’ll make you a deal. I will give you a list of everything that the Catholic church teaches that is contrary to the Word of God, if you will simply finish my question regarding the passage. Here is the question again.

      What does the following passage teach us? (Acts 10:9-16)

      • Well, I feel a lil insulted. Your comments themselves are suttle attacks towards me when you know absolutely nothing about me.

        I read the bible Constantly. I head the Bible studies in my parrish. I will not answer your question until YOU have answered mine.

        Now if you would kindly list the contrary teachings of the Catholic Church along with any factual evidence (not just feelings or hear-say) it would be GREATLY appreciated.

        Please, if its possible, refrain from the personal attacks no matter how suttle. I find it very frustrating and unChristian when people become the “finger pointers” and hold no factual evidence behind they’re claims whether its personal attacks or claims against the Church.

      • Hmmm…not sure where I was subtly attacking you in my last post. Originally you had requested that I point out the places where the Catholic Church contradicts the bible. I was attempting to do that with the shared verses in Acts 10:9-16, but I wanted to see what you thought of those verses before assuming anything else. It was just starting to seem like you were avoiding the conversation. So let me try this another way and I’ll be as clear as I can. I think that the Catholic church would point to the verses in Acts 10:9-16 and say that it is evidence that there are no longer any clean or unclean foods. Let me know if I am right or wrong.

        Thanks!

      • I’d like to point out the suttle attacks I see first of all. In my first response, I only asked a clear & to the point question. This was in regards to your background. I explained why I asked, and I clearly stated that I ask because I’m interested in closing this gap that divides us “as Christians”. Instead of looking to the charity in my post that I was clearly trying to state, you point out that you protest the Catholic Church and that my question “Smacks of a personal attack”…? Not sure where you got that from. However, as I pointed out that this was not my intention, you accepted my apology and then stated “I’m not surprised by this but you don’t seem to just want to look at what the Bible says”. You simply imply that I refuse to read the Bible. My guess, you follow the myth that Catholics don’t read the Bible on their own. My dear friend, you are mistaken if this is your “presumption” of Catholics.

        Now, in regards to your most recent post on the book of Acts. It is clear that this portion of the book of Acts is discussing that gentiles who believe in Christ are clean. That gentile & Jew are both saved by Christ’s Saving Grace. Not to call unclean what God Himself has made clean. Simply by reading a few more verses, Peter explains this himself. In regards to your mention of clean & unclean food, that’s a whole other issue.

        I would also like to point out that your description of the verses on this page (your original positng in your blog) is incorrect. You’re reading the text based on your understanding of the english language & modern culture, and not even close to the context that was intended at the time.
        When it comes to Jesus calling Peter the rock (petros) it is not stating that his mission was a small one that was completed in Acts.Jesus says (I’ll use your translation that you’ve stated above)

        “And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.”

        Jesus is not referring to a temporary moment in time. Jesus is establishing a Church with priests (the Apostles). This is mirroring the old testament. Where the Jews had failed the test, Jesus has fulfilled. Just as the Old Covenant has priests that do the will of God and teach the laws of God, so does the New Covenant. To say that this Church does not exist any longer is to state that the gates of hades did prevail.

        In your quote of Acts Chapter 15 where you state that everyone followed the decree of James is also incorrect. If we take a look at what is going on in this particular chapter we can see that there is some bickering(harder translations show that they were disagreeing & arguing) going on in regards to circumcision for the gentiles which have made a conversion. So what do they do? They took it to the Church? This Church which you claim was not set up solely on Peter clearly was. We can see that there was some frustration between all the Church leaders. In the midst of the Chaos, Peter stood and EVERYONE stopped arguing and listened. The Jerusalem Bible and others of a more direct translation state that they fell silent after Peter Spoke. If we take a look at the culture and time, this is EXTREMELY important. Everyone else is stating what they think is the correct thing to do. Everyone is bickering with everyone. Even the Apostles themselves are bickering with some of the Pharisees in this moment. Yet, as soon as Peter speaks, EVERYONE is quiet. This is important and shows the leadership that Peter held. When James speaks(The one whom Jesus loves), he is the first to state that Peter is correct by saying almost exactly what Peter is saying. Everyone listens and then together chose delegates to represent the Church’s decision and sends them off.

        In regards to your call on Galatians 2 v 11 it’s important not to take this out of context as well. Did Peter recieve a correction from Paul? yes. However what Peter was doing was concidered to be insincere, Paul also didinsincere things in other circumstances such as Acts 16: 16v3; 21 v 26 1st Co 8 v 13 etc.. This does not in any way shape or form deny Peters position of Authority.

        There are many many readings in the Bible that show Peter’s authority in decisions in the “Church”. If you do a quick search you can find some info on the early Church Fathers (Apostles & Their followers) and we can see (after sifting thru some of the sugar coated translations) That there has ALWAYS been a Church in place since day one. This Church was lead by Peter and the Apostles as well as the other desciples who followed Christ.

        Truth Seeker, I admire your love for our Lord & Saviour Jesus Christ. I truly do. Please, take some time to dig a little deeper into the culture of the time. In a lot of your blogs you state “I feel” & ” I think” etc.. It’s obvious that God is calling you to some work for Him. The Catholic Church is not all the nonsense that you’ve been told over the years. I know… I was protestant ALL MY LIFE. 31 years of my life thinking that the Catholic Church is the whore of babylon and the Pope is the anti-christ. My friend, I promise you I was completely wrong and never took a deeper look until my wife came across my path and beat some sense into me 🙂

        After taking a deeper look into things, it’s easy to see that the Catholic Church is the fullness of truth in God’s teaching. The only way the Pope can be an anti-christ is if he opposes Christ. or opposite Christ. He is not, I guarantee it.

        You’ve stated before in your G+ posting that we need to put our CCC (Catechism of the Catholic Church) down and read for ourselves… my question is this my dear friend… “Have you ever read the Catechism?” or have you just assumed and make accusations based on what other people have told you? Do not be so quick to judge my friend.

        I pray that you have a blessed day, & wish you the best.

      • If this feels like a “personal” attack and you can’t handle it, then just walk away. I am “attacking” your ideas and not your intelligence…there is a difference.

        “And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.” This seems to be the only verse in the bible that really matters to the Catholic system…it is always used in any discussion because it seems that they need the so called authority it gives them to abrogate, change, and destroy the laws and the grace of God. This is so arrogant and blatant and heretical toward God that it makes my stomach hurt. So, here is a list of all the things that the Catholic church does that go against the teachings in the bible:

        Accepts confession unto itself claiming authority to forgive sin
        Baptizes by sprinkling and while a baby
        Prays to Mary
        Prays to Saints
        Believe’s that the dead “live” after death
        Believe’s in purgatory
        Believe’s in hell as a place of burning and torment forever
        Believe’s that it speaks for God
        Believe’s that the wafer and wine actually become Jesus’s body and blood
        Limit’s and controls when communion can be received
        Changed the Sabbath day
        Gives power and authority to Mary
        Gives rituals as absolution for sin
        Believe’s it has the power and authority to change God’s laws
        Practices idol worship
        Throughout history changes to “fit the times”
        Indulgences

        Now to the “authority” given to Peter in the verse above.

        If taken in context what is the discussion that leads up to this verse?

        Mat 16:12 Then at last they understood that He wasn’t speaking about the yeast in bread, but about the deceptive teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.
        Mat 16:13 When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, He asked His disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”
        Mat 16:14 “Well,” they replied, “some say John the Baptist, some say Elijah, and others say Jeremiah or one of the other prophets.”

        So, what are we discussing here? Is it Peter’s Authority to literally change God’s laws? Is it Peter’s new found power to forgive sin and to control the salvation of all men? No, the question at hand is “Who is Jesus”?

        Mat 16:15 Then He asked them, “But who do you say I am?”
        Mat 16:16 Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.”
        Mat 16:17 Jesus replied, “You are blessed, Simon son of John, because My Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being.

        So, Peter pipes up and gives the correct answer because he see’s who Jesus really is. Everyone else in the region is saying that maybe He is a returned prophet, but they do not see Him as what He really is, the son of God. I don’t think that Peter understood any more than the other disciples at this time because the discussion was first “Who do men say that I am” and then it was “Who do you say that I am”. We’ve now established up to this point what the conversation was about.. Jesus and HIS AUTHORITY and HIS POWER and HIS PRESENCE. Here is a quote from Barnes commentary that helped me to understand what was happening here better:

        The Christ – The Messiah, the “Anointed” of God. See the notes at Mat_1:1.
        The Son – That is, the Son by way of eminence – in a special sense. See the notes at Mat_1:17. This appellation was understood as implying divinity, Joh_10:29-36.
        Of the living God – The term “living” was given to the true God to distinguish him from idols, that are dead, or lifeless blocks and stones. He is also the Source of life, temporal, spiritual, and eternal. The word “living” is often given to him in the Old Testament, Jos_3:10; 1Sa_17:26, 1Sa_17:36; Jer_10:9-10, etc. In this noble confession Peter expressed the full belief of himself and of his brethren that he was the long-expected Messiah. Other people had very different opinions of him, but they were satisfied, and were not ashamed to confess it.

        What does this discussion lead to next?

        Mat 16:18 Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means ‘rock’), and upon this rock I will build My church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it.
        Mat 16:19 And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven. Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven.”
        Mat 16:20 Then He sternly warned the disciples not to tell anyone that He was the Messiah.

        The catholic church would lead us to believe that Peter means rock, and it does but it means a small rock or “Petros” and when Jesus makes the statement he says…remember that punctuation was added by translators.. “…thou art “petros” and upon this “petra” I will build my church.

        So, according to you I am supposed to think that this is Peter receiving the call to build the church. But what I see is that Jesus is stating that HE IS THE ROCK and upon HIM will the church be built. Think of the discussion they were just having…they were talking about who’s authority? Jesus’s authority. “Who do you say that I am”?

        Petros means “small rock” or “piece of rock” and petra means “rock” …if the whole sentence was intended to be speaking only of Peter than Jesus would have used petros both times in that sentence.

        Peter was given a commission. To go and preach the gospel to all nations baptizing them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost. But Peter never set himself up in some high place of unreachable authority. He never sat on the throne and judged from “on-high”. He went out to the people and lived with them, as Jesus did, and taught the gospel message, allowing it to change lives. He even died by being crucified upside down to show His lowliness compared to God. Peter would be appalled at how his name has been used. Your Pope is the least humble person I can think of by the system that he follows. The pope does not preach free grace, salvation by faith and faith alone. The pope sets up rules and laws that abrogate, distort, twist, and destroy the law and love of God. The Catholic system is solely based upon taking the authority to forgive and save men unto itself. I despise this. I will always despise this because it (the Catholic system) spits on what Jesus did for you and for me and seeks to gain power for itself by using His love and free grace. Your Catholic system will some day once again seek to gain physical power over men by aligning itself with political power. This is wrong. You can’t show me one example in the bible where Jesus aligned himself with any powerful or political person.

        I understand that you will want to take this as a personal attack because I used strong words. But I feel strongly about this and I am 110% convicted that Jesus is the only power through which I can be saved. NO CHURCH, not even the one that I attend weekly can save me from my sins. (by the way, they would be appalled at the thought) Only Jesus can, and I crumble at His feet when I think of what He accomplished for me on the cross. It is faith in Jesus and what He did for me that has changed my life, not faith in a system. I seek HIM daily, and He forgives me and loves me and I would never want to give that up…even unto death.

      • Truth Seeker – JM :
        If this feels like a “personal” attack and you can’t handle it, then just walk away. I am “attacking” your ideas and not your intelligence…there is a difference..

        This is false. You’re trying to justify your attacks. You call me out for asking a simple question about your background and then instead of being Christian about anything you’re completely rude, inconsiderate, & to be quite honest, a bit unruly. In regards to your statement about attacking my ideas… I haven’t mentioned any of my ideas at this point. I’ve only asked for yours.

        I’d love to sit down and discuss these things with you as an adult, but it’s obvious to see that this is simply heading in a negative direction.

        The things you state about the Catholic Faith are False. You call yourself Truth Seeker, yet you fail to seek out the Truth of the History of Christianity. Take some time to look at the actual History of Christianity “Before the 1800’s”.

        Everything that you mentioned, is addressed in the “HISTORY OF CHRISTIANITY”. Do a little searching.

        Oh… and that Bible you study out of, look into where that came from. It was the Catholic Church who Canonized the EXACT readings you’re studying out of.

        My suggestion is to quit searching with your feelings and start looking at actual FACTS.

        2nd Thessalonians 2 v 15
        15 Stand firm, then, borthers, and keep the traditions that we taught you, whether by word of mouth or by letter.

        These traditions which the “Apostles” taught are held in the Catholic Church since DAY 1. Everything we do in the Catholic Church can be traced allllllllll the way back to the day of the ascension. From the Pope, to confession, to communion etc. Take a look and quit blinding yourself my friend. It’s blinding others.

        You’re misleading people : Matthew 18 v 6-7
        6 But anyone who is the downfall of one of these little ones who have faith in me would be better drowned in the depths of the sea with a great millstone round his neck. 7 Alas for the world that there should be such causes of fallings! Causes of falling indeed there must be, but alas for anyone who provides them!

        Have a blessed night.
        God bless you in your Journey.

      • So interesting that you would assume that I havent studied the history of the church all the way back to “Peter”. I in fact have studied it all the way back to Adam & Eve in the Garden of Eden. The Church that you now give so much authority in your life is no longer God’s church. It turned it’s back on God and His ways and went in it’s own direction. It saught out and killed real Christians in the name of “Rome” and burned them at the stake. This is what happens when we give men power over our lives that belongs to God and God alone. (Matthew 23:9) It will happen again and I pray that your eyes will be opened when it does and you will see that your “church” is really just a tool to control and ultimately persecute human beings. I cannot imagine giving another sinner that much control over my life. Your pope is a sinner, just like you and me.

        The mere fact that the Bible was cannonized by your church is used as a claim to it’s authority over the Bible. This is a blasphemous statement. You think that God would have allowed anything into the Bible that He didn’t want in it? Who really put the Bible together…God or the Pope?

        You accuse me of misleading people. I accuse you of putting all of your faith in a church and not in Jesus, the only one that can save. For that, I am sad…because like Paul, if your zeal could be turned to God’s way instead of the way of the “Church”, you would create Christians instead of persecuting them. I’m tired of the childish tit-for-tat atmosphere that was created by the fact that the defending of ideas always gets in the way of talking about the only one by which we can be saved; Jesus.

        The whole reason I started this Bible Journey was to experience Jesus for myself. I never claimed any authority and I expect people who read my blog to think for themselves and draw their own conclusions. I believe that the Holy Spirit works on our lives individually, apart from a church, and He speaks to us individually. We are called to gather together to encourage and strengthen one another in Jesus. That is what I want to do…not fight with you.

        John 3:35 | John 3:16,17| John 4:21-23 | John 8:44 | John 13:3 | John 14:1

        I know that it is hard for you to seperate yourself from your church; but my attacks were never at YOU directly, only at your “churches” teachings. You did attack ME and MY INTELLIGENCE and claimed somehow to be more intelligent because you assume that I haven’t read the history of God’s people. In this you were wrong.

        But here is what I know. I know that Jesus loves you so much that He died for you. He loves you whether or not you are a Catholic. He loves even the pagans who have turned their eyes from him completely and His heart aches to get them back. Stop talking to your “fathers” (Matthew 23:9) as Jesus instructed, and start talking to Him and asking Him to direct your path. See where Jesus can lead you. He loves you so much, never forget that.

        In conclusion, I submit this. Let’s talk about Jesus. Let’s talk about the amazing things He did and does in our lives. Let’s share our experiences with Him and see where that takes us. What do you say?


  2. Let me start with this. I am not interested in closing the “gap” with the Catholic church. I am a Protestant and believe that the history of the Catholic church speaks volumes to what it’s true motivations are. However, that is a church system and I do not apply that same principle to the people caught up in that system. I appreciate your thoughfulness and your desire to learn from God (not me), though your statement of “I am wondering if you have any experience….” smacks of a personal attack.

    You ask me to point out some of the contradictions to the Bible in the Catholic teachings, so, let’s start with an easy one:

    What does the following passage teach us? (I use the NLT version of the bible but you can refer to any version you would like)

    Act 10:9 The next day as Cornelius’s messengers were nearing the town, Peter went up on the flat roof to pray. It was about noon,
    Act 10:10 and he was hungry. But while a meal was being prepared, he fell into a trance.
    Act 10:11 He saw the sky open, and something like a large sheet was let down by its four corners.
    Act 10:12 In the sheet were all sorts of animals, reptiles, and birds.
    Act 10:13 Then a voice said to him, “Get up, Peter; kill and eat them.”
    Act 10:14 “No, Lord,” Peter declared. “I have never eaten anything that our Jewish laws have declared impure and unclean. ”
    Act 10:15 But the voice spoke again: “Do not call something unclean if God has made it clean.”
    Act 10:16 The same vision was repeated three times. Then the sheet was suddenly pulled up to heaven.

    Have a wonderful day and I’ll be praying that the Holy Spirit leads you to understanding…and if you see something that I don’t, I hope to learn from it…as long as it doesn’t contradict the Word of God. 🙂

  3. Good evening. I noticed you responded to a thread on G+ where I was dialoguing with LC for bit. Unfortunately, she has blocked me from the text for reasons unknown to me. Not sure where I went wrong, but, I’m curious about some of things you posted. You stated that the Catholic Church clearly points out things that are contradictions to the Word of God quite often. Can you point these out?
    Also, I’m wondering if you have any experience in Translating Aramaic, Greek, or in the cultures and ways of life back in the time that Jesus walked the earth. I really do feel that explanation you give on Peter is, well, more of a personal opinion rather than a clear translation of the text in regards to the language difference and culture difference of the original author.

    P.s. As I told LC via G+ (yet I still got blocked) I ask this because I’m interested in closing this gap that divides us as Christians.

    God bless. Hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

