Betraying Jesus | Matthew 26:17-25


Judas, the one who would betray Him, also asked, “Rabbi, am I the one?” And Jesus told Him, “You have said it.”

Mat 26:17 On the first day of the Festival of Unleavened Bread, the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Where do You want us to prepare the Passover meal for You?”
Mat 26:18 “As you go into the city,” He told them, “you will see a certain man. Tell him, ‘The Teacher says: My time has come, and I will eat the Passover meal with My disciples at your house.'”
Mat 26:19 So the disciples did as Jesus told them and prepared the Passover meal there.
Mat 26:20 When it was evening, Jesus sat down at the table with the twelve disciples.
Mat 26:21 While they were eating, He said, “I tell you the truth, one of you will betray Me.”
Mat 26:22 Greatly distressed, each one asked in turn, “Am I the one, Lord?”
Mat 26:23 He replied, “One of you who has just eaten from this bowl with Me will betray Me.
Mat 26:24 For the Son of Man must die, as the Scriptures declared long ago. But how terrible it will be for the one who betrays Him. It would be far better for that man if he had never been born!”
Mat 26:25 Judas, the one who would betray Him, also asked, “Rabbi, am I the one?” And Jesus told Him, “You have said it.”

Have I Betrayed You Lord?

The disciples were greatly distressed by Jesus’ question. They did not enter into instant denial, but instead each asked in turn..”Am I the one, Lord?” This interaction speaks volumes about relationship with Jesus. They were willing to search their own hearts and see that the potential to betray Jesus was within them. There was a fear that “maybe I’m the one who will betray Him” and they each searched deep down to know if the seed of betrayal lay within them.

Jesus made the statement of betrayal in the way He did to instigate this soul searching. He could have just come out and said “Judas, you are the one who will betray me.” He knew who it was. Judas knew who it was as well, but he played along and pretended to be worried that the offender might be him. He had just betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of silver (the price of a slave) and here he is pretending to be His disciple. He still see’s Jesus as “just a man with power” and not the searcher of men’s hearts. Proverbs 15:11

What about me; have I betrayed You Lord?

Searching our own hearts is something we all must do, with full anguish and humbleness. Our hearts can betray Jesus when even our actions do not. We can be attending church regularly and warming the pews with our be-suited butts, our pasted on smiles, and our self glorifying amen’s..while never searching our own hearts for deceit and betrayal.

Remember friends, Jesus does not judge by the outward appearance…

1 Sam 16:7  But the LORD said to Samuel, “Don’t judge by his appearance or height, for I have rejected him. The LORD doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

…and he wants us to also judge ourselves from the heart.

2 Corinthians 13:5  Examine yourselves, whether ye be in the faith; prove your own selves. Know ye not your own selves, how that Jesus Christ is in you, except ye be reprobates?

The Lord understands that “as we think in our hearts, so we are.” So guard your heart. Test it and be sure that it is real and not deceitful…

Prov 4:23  Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.

…for we know that the heart is most deceitful…

Jer 17:9  “The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is?

…and we also have faith that the One Who Created our hearts can change them and make them into vessels that hold Him and His commandments as first in their lives.

Heb_8:10  But this is the new covenant I will make with the people of Israel on that day, says the LORD: I will put My laws in their minds, and I will write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be My people.

So, dear friends, search your heart today. Be honest with yourself because you cannot help but to be honest with God. He knows your innermost thoughts and feelings. He has suffered temptations just like you. He knows what it takes to overcome the deceitfulness of the heart…surrender completely to Him.

Deu 7:9  Understand, therefore, that the LORD your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps His covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes His unfailing love on those who love Him and obey His commands.

Prayer:

Dear Father in Heaven,

My heart has been heavy with the burden of sin for so long, I don’t know if I can feel anything else. But there is a seed of pure desire that wants only to be right in Your eyes. I know my heart lies to me. I sometimes listen to it and feel scared at how much it loves to make sin so easy. When I look into my heart I see the deep need for You Lord. Today I surrender to You fully. As I say it, I am scared…but I declare now that I trust You more than myself. Lead me. Fill me with the Holy Spirit and control my wicked heart. Thank You for being willing to do that. I praise Your Glorious Name and Your long-suffering mercies! You are truly a patient God.

Bring my children back Lord. We both want them in the kingdom and I ask that You intercede in their lives in a powerful way to show them their need for You.

Thank You for Your providence and for Your love. Help me to let go of the things You have given me freely when You call for them to go. Increase my faith and help my unbelief. Amen.

Leave a Reply

