Clear Water vs. Diluted Truth | Matthew 26:46-56


So Judas came straight to Jesus. “Greetings, Rabbi!” he exclaimed and gave Him the kiss.

Mat 26:46 Up, let’s be going. Look, My betrayer is here!”
Mat 26:47 And even as Jesus said this, Judas, one of the twelve disciples, arrived with a crowd of men armed with swords and clubs. They had been sent by the leading priests and elders of the people.
Mat 26:48 The traitor, Judas, had given them a prearranged signal: “You will know which one to arrest when I greet Him with a kiss.”
Mat 26:49 So Judas came straight to Jesus. “Greetings, Rabbi!” he exclaimed and gave Him the kiss.
Mat 26:50 Jesus said, “My friend, go ahead and do what you have come for.” Then the others grabbed Jesus and arrested Him.
Mat 26:51 But one of the men with Jesus pulled out his sword and struck the high priest’s slave, slashing off his ear.
Mat 26:52 “Put away your sword,” Jesus told him. “Those who use the sword will die by the sword.
Mat 26:53 Don’t you realize that I could ask My Father for thousands of angels to protect us, and He would send them instantly?
Mat 26:54 But if I did, how would the Scriptures be fulfilled that describe what must happen now?”
Mat 26:55 Then Jesus said to the crowd, “Am I some dangerous revolutionary, that you come with swords and clubs to arrest Me? Why didn’t you arrest Me in the Temple? I was there teaching every day.
Mat 26:56 But this is all happening to fulfill the words of the prophets as recorded in the Scriptures.” At that point, all the disciples deserted Him and fled.

Was Jesus a Revolutionary?

Yes, he was, but not by human standards, or sinful standards for that matter.   He was and is the antithesis of Satan’s government and way of doing and conquering. Jesus sought to “conquer” with truth, love and humility – while the people he discipled and those who thought of him as a revolutionary where always waiting for the violence to begin. We see this in verse 51, when Peter reacts with violence cutting off the ear of one of the temple guards. We see this in the fact that the High Priest sent temple guards with swords and clubs to arrest Jesus who had never lifted a finger to harm anyone, but instead only helped the “unclean”.

What a lonely struggle it must have been for Him; constantly trying to teach people of His ways, while they were always looking to bring things around to their way.

I must apply this to my own walk with Jesus. Do I often try to manipulate His words and change the meaning of them so that it fits my reality; my desired result? Who am I to tell the King of the Universe how He should run his government – yet I constantly find that He has to correct my ways and views because I have allowed “self” to dilute and change the clear waters of his ways.

Clean Water vs. Diluted Truth

This can be illustrated in a problem many of us have today. We often turn down the choice of cool clear fresh water, and instead we add things to it to make it more palatable. We turn it into kool-aid or hot chocolate. We make it into coffee or tea. We choose soda made with cups of sugar over water or we add crystal light to it and fool ourselves into thinking “it’s now good for us”.

The real kicker is we understand at our core that plain simple “water” is what we need, yet we choose to make it into something that pleases us. What we don’t always allow ourselves to realize is that at the point we change it, it ceases to be water.

So it is with God’s Will and His Word. If we add our own desires and wants into His Word, it becomes changed into something it was never intended for. This is why we have so many different belief systems in the Christian walk. Too many Christians today seek to make the word say what is expedient for them, instead of simply seeking truth that allows us to know and to do the Will of God.

Was Jesus forced into the hands of the enemy, or did he let himself be taken?

Verse 53 makes it clear that Jesus could have asked for a league of angels to protect him and the temple guard would never have even come close to him. He gave himself over of his own free will, because it was the time and the place appointed by His Father. Why else would he have been in the garden struggling with the Father? He knew his time had come and he struggled like the rest of us to do the Will of God. But unlike many of us, he also placed the Will of God above his own and even unto death he followed the that Will.

Can we have that kind of faith?

Yes, we can. While our faith will be tainted by a sinful heart, if we ask for the help to do God’s Will it is available to us. We must give our“selves” over to God and give Him complete control over our lives. Seek His Will, be willing to do His Will, and He will entrust you with it.

Jesus was completely like we are, yet failed in no point. If he was completely like we are then he also was dependent upon the Father for everything. Every move he made was in complete unity with the Will of God. We too can have this, but it takes the same complete surrender that Jesus gave to the Father.

Do you want that type of surrender?

“Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you.”

Seeking the Will of God is seeking to obey. He will add everything else to us, if we only seek with all our hearts, souls and minds to know His Will.

Train of thought:

  1. Seek GOD
  2. Seeking GOD is seeking His Will
  3. My will is my thoughts, cares, understandings, wisdom and character.
  4. GOD’S Will is the same, but His is perfect.
  5. When we seek GOD, we are not seeking an “experience” or “feeling”.
  6. When we seek GOD, we are seeking His Will so that we can align ourselves to it.
  7. Knowing GOD is doing His Will.

Prayer:

Dear Father in Heaven,

Thank You so much for sending Your Son Jesus to take my place on the cross. I praise Your Name today and ask for the gift of the Holy Spirit. I ask for Your forgiveness and for Your strength to overcome. I cannot do this on my own Lord, but I believe by faith today that You can do it through me. I ask for the Mind of Christ. Help my unbelief. Increase my faith.

Please show me what you want me to do with Victor. I lift up to you Julie and ask that Your mighty hand of healing would put all of her suffering away and allow the miracle to be completed. Create in her a witness that will glorify You to the ends of the earth. Give her the opportunity to tell her story.

Please give me the finances that will allow me to help others as you would have me to. Thank You for all that You provide…You are such a gracious and loving God.

Be with my son and my daughter, heal them both body and spirit. Let them know how much they are loved. Help me to bring them to You Lord.

Most importantly Lord Father, please may Your perfect Will be done. Give me the wisdom to know….Amen.

One thought on “Clear Water vs. Diluted Truth | Matthew 26:46-56

Leave a Reply

